I’m a Product of the Internet

10437395_1053023094712764_6957234865101049391_n

Everything I ever read about a global village in my English exam excerpts and passages back in elementary school is happening. Back then, that concept was hard to envision, but at that age simultaneous equations were hard to understand too so…maybe my mind was still young. I used to read about how in the near future people would be able to talk to each other from different parts of the world, and not have to wait weeks for the mail to get delivered. (To my pen pal Victoria from London I’m still waiting) The year is 2015 and we can now hold a live conversation with friends from wherever whenever. Through social media channels Communication and access to information has gotten so much easier that I know about more stuff than I can do anything with. As we speak I can’t wait to find someone to hold a conversation with about the article I just read about how Airtel is Pushing for the break up of Safaricom and how its going to affect the telecommunication industry. They want Safaricom be made to open up products like M-pesa and operate in a more regulated environment. Is that the price such a company has to pay for its creativity and innovations? That’s a question for another day. Being a curious person, I wonder a lot which always has me goggling about whatever pops into my mind. It usually starts simple like, “I wonder how wafers are manufactured” then I’ll google that and by the time I’m through I’ll probably have opened 8 more Wikipedia tabs trying to find out more about whatever I read in the first search result. I consume information on the internet like a Luhya would a chicken.I often try to find out what this connected world means for us. Broadband Internet is become more widely available, the cost of connecting is decreasing, more devices are being created with wifi capabilities and sensors built into them, technology costs are going down, and smart phone penetration is sky-rocketing. For your info Safaricom just launched a new more affordable smartphone called Neon that’s retailing at about 5Gs.(no relation to 4G )  All of these things are creating a “perfect storm” .With the ongoing digital migration crisis Safaricom would be in a very suitable environment to introduce on-demand internet streaming media. With jokes that nowadays guys have to download news in episodes from the mainstream local media,it would seem a waste by Safaricom not to launch ,if I may call it so ,a ‘netflix type’ of product for the Kenyan market.But you know, that Airtel move might keep them occupied for a while.

Leave a Reply

